ycf badge Yorkshire RC badge

Website supported by Otley Cycle Club











and Sheffrec Cycling Club

otley cc badge sheffrec cc badge
Click to visit Facebook page


Special Awards

Annual Awards


1986    Tom Anderton (Yorkshire RC)

1993    Trevor Wilkinson (Birdwell Whs)


1994    Dave Rayner (Pro – Bradford)

2008    Peter Smith (Holme Valley Whs)

2011    Bryan Peel (Drighlington BC)

2012    John Rawnsley (Bradford RCC)

2020    Pete Read (Team Swift)

TT - Time trial

RR - Road race

CX - Cyclo cross

MTB - Mountain bike

Women’s BBAR for third time and multiple national championships

National 24 Hour TT Champion and long distance cyclist

Winner of BBAR at 18 years of age

Services to cycling, especially organising CTC York Rally for 20th year

National 25 and 50 Miles TT Champion and record holder

BBAR and National RR Champion

World RR Champion, 12 hour TT record holder

Services to cycling as RTTC administrator over 30 years

Member's achievements in individual and team TT championships

BBAR, 12 hour TT champion and 50 mile TT record

National Hill Climb Champion for a record 4th time

Prolific TT organiser and RTTC official

1973 National 50 and 100 miles TT Champion.

Won Tour de France stage, sprints comp and other continental RRs

Professional RR achievements, including 18 wins in 1975

Numerous national TT honours and services to the sport

Outstanding service to cycling as an administrator and organiser

National champion at 10, 25, 50 and 100 miles, also BBAR

Cycle trader and supporter of the sport at all levels

Services to cycling by club and members.

Yorkshire BAR and W.Yorks. Div. RR Champion.

Gold medals at Commonwealth Games in RR and team TT

Won Women’s BBAR for 25th consecutive time

Administration of cycle touring events

Administrator to RTTC and YCF

Gold medals at Commonwealth Games in RR and team TT

Won Women’s BBAR at 42 years of age.

Women’s RR champion 3rd time & international racing achievements

Ladies coach, administrator and former international    

Services to cycling for almost 70 years

Pro cycling achievements, team manager & ambassador to the sport

First Yorkshire winner of BBAR since 1970

Services to cyclo-cross, especially organisation of 3 Peaks event

Won Commonwealth Games points race, BBAR & national champs

International racing cyclist, TT record breaker and champion

TT organisers, administrators and competitors over many years

International racing achievements over many years.

Racing successes, particularly cyclo-cross


40 years service to RTTC and Christine’s veterans TT successes


Medal winners at Sydney Olympics and World Championships

Illustrious cycling career over many years

World Track Points Race Champion and other successes

Assistance to aspiring young British cyclists at international level

Media achievements and RTTC, YCF and VTTA administrator

50th anniversary recognition of first British Tour de France stage win

Won BBAR for record 10th time, other RR successes

Services to YCF over 50 years, time keeper, event organiser

Winners of Gold Medals at Beijing Olympics and Paralympics

World Downhill Mountain Bike Champion

International track and road racing successes

Over 40 years administration, organising and time keeping

Administration to time trialling at local and national level

President of British Cycling. Leading local official and RR organiser

Masterminded Yorkshire Grand Départ of the Tour de France

World, Commonwealth and British women’s road race champion


2 golds and 1 bronze in visually impaired tandem at Rio Paralympics

Administrator of Yorkshire time trialling and event organiser

Yorkshire Regional Director of Sustrans from 1994 to 2014

British Road Race Champion and 12 years a World Tour Professional

5 age group World Championships in TT, MTB and CX by age 22

1961    Beryl Burton (Morley CC)

1962    Nim Carline (Morley CC)

1963    Peter Hill (Askern CC)

1964    Cliff Pratt (Hull & E Riding CTC)

1965    Barry Breedon (Rockingham CC)

1966    Arthur Metcalfe (Leeds St. Chris. CC)

1967    Beryl Burton (Morley CC)

1968    Wilf Ball (Rotherham Wh.)

1969    Clifton Cycling Club

1970    John Watson (Clifton CC)

1971    Granville Sydney (Hudds. Star Whs)

1972    Jim Carr (Birdwell Wh.)

1973    Ian White (Clifton CC)

1974    Barry Hoban (Pro – Wakefield)

1975    Sid Barras (Pro – Middlesbrough)

1976    Mike McNamara (Rockingham CC)

1977    Bill Priestley (BCF)

1978    Beryl Burton OBE (Morley CC)

1979    Ron Kitching (Yorkshire RC)

1980    Otley Cycle Club

1981    Danny Horton (Halifax RC)

1982    Malcolm Elliott (South Yorkshire RC)

1983    Beryl Burton OBE (Morley CC)

1984    Bob Carmichael-Riddell (Leeds CTC)

1985    Edwin Longthorpe (W Bradford CC)

1986    Paul Curran (Manchester Wh.)

1987    Margaret Allen (Barnsley RC)

1988    Lisa Brambani (Ravensthorpe CC)

1989    Valerie Rushworth (Featherstone RC)    

1990    Eric Brearley (Halifax CTC)

1991    Keith Lambert (Pro – Bradford)

1992    Kevin Dawson (GS Strada)

1993    John Rawnsley (Bradford RCC)

1994    Yvonne McGregor (Swaledale CC)

1995    Peter Longbottom (North Wirral Velo)

1996    Keith and Joyce Webb (Otley CC)

1997    Jonathan Clay (Pro – Leeds)

1998    Chris Young (pro – Shipley)

1999    Frank and Christine Minto (Conisbrough Ivanhoe CC & Birdwell Whs)


2000    Chris Newton, Jonathan Clay and Yvonne McGregor


2001    Brian Haskell (Huddersfield RC)

2002    Chris Newton (Pinarello RT)

2003    David Rayner Trustees

2004    Mike Smith (East Bradford CC)

2005    Brian Robinson (Ex-pro – Mirfield)

2006    Kevin Dawson (Agisko Dart RT)

2007    George Barker (Pennine CC)

2008    Ed Clancy MBE & David Stone MBE

2009    Steve Peat (Pro – Sheffield)

2010    Lizzie Armitstead (Pro – Otley)

2011    Betty Philipson (City RC (Hull))

2012    Keith Lawton (Elmet CRC)

2013    Bob Howden (Wakefield CC)

2014    Gary Verity (Welcome to Yorkshire)

2015    Lizzie Armitstead (Pro – Otley)

2016    Steve Bate (Pro – Hebden Bridge) and Adam Duggleby (Pro – Leeds)


2017    Mike Williams (Team Swift)

2018    David Hall (Sustrans)

2019    Ben Swift (Pro - Sheffield)

2020    Tom Pidcock (Pro - Leeds)

Posthumously for a lifetime of services to cycling sport

Posthumous Award for administrative services to cycling as long serving official

and organiser

Posthumous Award to professional racing cyclist gaining increasing continental success

Posthumous Award for Services to RTTC in Yorkshire and nationally

Lifetime Achievement Award for services to cycling – YCF, RTTC and BCF

Lifetime Achievement Award for organising 3 Peaks Cyclo Cross over its 50 editions

Posthumously - Pioneer coach using structured indoor turbo training, assisted by heart rate monitoring, for time triallists


BBAR - British Best All Rounder time trial competition

CTT or RTTC - Cycling Time Trials (formerly Road Time Trials Council)

BC or BCF - British Cycling (formerly British Cycling Federation)

CTC - Cyclists’ Touring Club (now Cycling UK)

YCF = Yorkshire Cycling Federation

VTTA - Veterans Time Trials Association