Website supported by Otley Cycle Club

and Sheffrec Cycling Club

otley cc badge
sheffrec cc badge

CITATIONS - 1960 TO 1969

1961 - Mrs Beryl Burton

Won the British Womens Best All Rounder Competition for the third year in succession; won the Womens National Time Trial Championships at 25, 50 and 100 miles, all for the fourth year in succession; the Womens National Track Pursuit for the second year in succession and the Womens C.R.A. Road Race Championship. She also finished second in the Womens World Pursuit and Road Race Championships and set up new National Records at 10 and 25 miles.

In four seasons she has gained three world championships and seventeen national titles;has three times been Best All Rounder, has set up one world record and twelve national records and has twice received the Bidlake Plaque as the country’s outstanding Cyclist of the Year.

Mrs Beryl Burton has brought to her native County a succession of honours the like of which has never been excelled.

1961 Photo Beryl Burton

1963 - Peter Hill

Won the British Best All Rounder Competition

By gaining this most prized honour at the age of 18 he set up an all-time record, being easily the youngest ever to win the contest since its inception in 1930.

His success was the crowning achievement to a season in which Yorkshire riders gained twenty major honours; it gained for the county a primacy in the BBAR competition which it had not enjoyed for 25 years.

He attained this pinnacle in British cycling, previously occupied by only two other Yorkshiremen - Cyril Heppleston (1937) and Shake Earnshaw (1938) - within eighteen months of riding his first time-trial, an extraordinary achievement quite without precedent.

1963 Photo Peter Hill

1965 - Barry N Breedon

Won the RTTC National 25 miles and 50 miles Championships.

In accomplishing this feat, Breedon (a member of Rockingham CC) became the first northern rider, and only the second man ever, to take both titles in one season.

The performances recorded are superlative by any standard. The 25 miles were ridden in 55 mins. 18 secs. and the 50 miles in 1hr. 54 mins. 28 secs. Both constituted new Championship records.

This 1965 achievement followed an outstanding season in 1964, during which he won the RTTC National 25 miles Championship (the first time for 20 years that this honour had been achieved by a member of a Yorkshire club) and established new competition records for the 25 miles and 50 miles distances of 54 mins. 23 secs. and 1 hr. 50 mins. 3 secs. respectively. The latter record still stands.

His successes have brought great honour both to himself and to the county.

1965 Photo Barry Breedon

1966 - Arthur Metcalfe

Won the British Best All Rounder competition at a record average speed of 24.786 mph and won the National Amateur Road Race Championship.

He becomes the first man ever to win the supreme titles in both branches of amateur road cycling sport and has done so in the same year.

His achievements in 1966 include representing England in the Amateur Road Race Championship of the World, winning the Yorkshire Best All Rounder competition, completing 100 miles in competition in 3 hours 57 minutes 33 seconds so becoming the third fastest rider at this distance and attaining the third best total in 12 hour competition of 270.5 miles.

His past successes include victory in the Isle of Man International road race in 1965 and the Tour of Britain in 1964, the award of the Val Waterhouse Memorial Trophy as Britain’s best road racing cyclist in 1964, and the award of the Vaux Trophy as the North’s best rider in the Tour of Britain in three successive years.

His riding has attained an outstanding level and brought exceptional honour to himself and to the County of Yorkshire.

1966 Photo Arthur Metcalfe

1967 - Mrs Beryl Burton MBE

Won the World Road Race Championship, and in winning the Otley C.C. Women’s 12 hour time-trial with 277.2 miles, she beat the men’s 12 hour time-trial Competition Record of 271.8 miles.

This is the first instance, so far as can be ascertained, in the whole field of National and International athletic endeavour, that a men’s record has been bettered by a woman.

Her additional achievements in 1967 included third place in the World Pursuit Championship, winner of the National Pursuit and Road Race Championships, British Best All Rounder for the ninth successive year and winner of the three Women’s National Time Trial Championships at 25, 50 and 100 miles, and the setting up of new women’s time trial competition records at 10 miles (22.43), 25 miles (56.07), 30 miles (1.12.43), 50 miles (1.56.00), and 100 miles (4.40.50).

She was the first recipient of the award on its inauguration in 1961, since which date she has won an additional four World Championships and 29 National Championships. In 1964 she was honoured by the award of the M.B.E. for services to sport.

Beryl Burton has dominated women’s competitive cycling, both at national and international level for the past decade. Her achievements have brought great honour, not only to herself, but the County of Yorkshire and to Great Britain.

1967 Photo Beryl Burton

1969 - Clifton Cycling Club

In recognition of the outstanding performances of its members in cycling competition in recent years, and the selection of members to represent Great Britain in International Competition.

During the period 1965 to 1969, besides innumerable successes in time trial and road race events, club members have achieved twelve individual placings (including four firsts) and team successes in national time trial championships, have established five individual and six team time trial competition records, and have annexed the BBAR team award in four of the past five years.

The principal contributions have been by:-
Roy Cromack: 1967 12 hours TT Champion, rode in 1968 Olympics, 1969 24 hours TT Champion (507 miles - Championship and Competition Record)
Pete Smith: 1966 – 1967 2nd in five TT Championships, rode in 1968 Olympics and 1969 World Championships.
John Watson: 1967 100 miles TT Champion, rode in 1968 Olympics and 1969 World Championships, 1969 12 hour TT Champion (281 miles Championship and Competition Record.)

In addition A.J.Boswell, P.Taylor, A. Hargreaves, D. Pickard, MTH Potter and P.Watson have variously shared in winning Championship and Competition Record Teams.

The splendid achievements of these members have brought great honour both to the Club and to the county of Yorkshire.

1969 Photo Clifton CC

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player